Brief Introduction

Nawalparasi District , a part of Lumbini Zone, is one of the seventy-five districts of Nepal, a landlocked country of South Asia. The district, with Parasi, Nepal as its district headquarters, covers an area of 2,162 square kilometres (835 sq mi) and has a population (2011) of 643,508.

This district has given birth to many Nepal’s top-level people, including the late Prime Minister Tanka Prasad Acharya. The midpoint of Nepal’s east–west highway Mahendra Highway lies in this district. The Nawalpur valley is the part of greater Chitwan Valley of inner terai where most of the populations are the Terai caste Tharu,Hill castes people Magar and Brahmins who settled migrating from the hills. The Nawalpur area is also known as the developed area in the region because of the big industries such as Chaudhary Udhyog Gram (CUG), Bhrikuti pulp and paper factory. Since Parasi is the capital city of Nawalparasi district many of the clerical offices are located there. Nepal’s one of the biggest Sugar factory, Lumbini Sugar Industry, which was made by China’s support, also lies in Sunwal Municipality of this district. Nowadays many industries are also being operated here like butwal cement factory,Triveni distillery, cement factory of CG in dumkibas, jamuwad paper factory and other cottage industries. Developing cities such as Devchuli Municipality,Gaindakot Municipality,Kawasoti Municipality Sunwal Municipality and Bardaghat Municipality are located here. Jahada is one of the most attractive village of this District. With ponds and rivers surrounded by greenery forests, village is so quite place to stay. Famous towns in Nawalpur Ragion are Gaidakot, Rajahar, Keurani, Pragatinagar, Kawasoti, aidnagar Danda, Chormara, Arunkhola etc. Half of the Nawalpur Region is mainly hilly areas mainly populated by Brahmins, Magar and Chhetri people and terai area is mainly populated by Tharu people.

Nawalparasi district is connected to Rupandehi District on the west, Palpa and Tanahun Districts on the north, Chitwan District on the east and south and the Indian border. The longest road of Mahendra highway, 99 km in length, lies in this district. Major cities of Nepal such as Butwal, Siddharthanagar, Tansen and Bharatpur Sub metropolitan municipality are located in neighbouring districts.

Skip to toolbar